To our friends and comrades in Japan – A Letter by an Affinity Group

(Original text in English below)

日本の友人と同志たちへ ——あるアフィニティ・グループからの手紙

うまく言葉を見つけられずにいます。多くの喪失、 破壊を経験し、そして恐怖に面しているみなさんを思い、わたしたちは悲観に暮れています。そして原発の存在がこの自然災害の恐怖にさらに油を注いだこと、情報の統制により状況が悪化させられたことについて、激しい怒りを覚えます。しかし私たちは、これまで何度となく起こり、これからも起こり続けるであろう多くの悲劇の合間で光をさす、勇敢な行動や相互扶助の様子に心を打たれています。

3年ほど前、私たちは日本を訪れ、そこでみなさんと共に闘う機会に恵まれました。北海道の高原を私たちはともに歩き、G8サミットを、粗暴な権力と利己主義のみに基づいて行われる 非公式の支配を終えよ、と声を上げました。大阪で訪れた野宿者テント村では、コミュニティーのみなさんが食事や安全の共有を通して行政による退去令から身を守っていることについて語ってくれました。東京でも野宿者のコミュニティーを訪れました。そこでは私営のナイキ・パークとして侵略されようとしている公園を保持しようとする運動が行われていました。そしてインフォ・ショップ、コミュニティーセンター、そしてみなさんの家など——激しい創造と抵抗の在処を訪れることができました。京都、大阪、東京、北海道にいる同志たちーーあなたたちは、資本主義と行政の猛襲からコモンを擁護することを共に教えてくれました。そして食の共有、笑い、音楽を通じて友情を築くことを教えてくれた。ありがとう。

私たちはみな、日本で過ごした時間に強く影響を受けました。そして津波やその後の様子を映像で見ながら、恐怖に震えています。その中でも、原発による被害 は、あなたたちの社会に大きな破壊をうみ出してしまった。みなさんの社会が面しているあらゆる喪失に、嘆き、悲しんでいます。この苦難の状況の中、 生き抜くための努力、互いを助け合う心、そして安全、健康、正義を勝ち取るための力の下で奮闘しているみなさんに、わたしたちは連帯します。言葉では不十分ですが、わたしたちの気持ちをこのような言葉にして差し伸べたいと思います。わたしたちに何が出来るか、教えてください。みなさんはわたしたちの心の中にいます。

我々は共にあります。

連帯の心をこめて。

サラ
アーシャ
マリーナ
デビッド

————————————————————

To our friends and comrades in Japan – A Letter by an Affinity Group

We struggle to find the words to tell you that we are sorry for the loss, devastation, and fear you no doubt face. We are enraged by the role that nuclear power has played in exacerbating the horrors of this natural disaster, as well as the withholding of information about the extent of the harm that has been done. And we are moved by the acts of courage and mutual aid that shine through the multiple tragedies that have occurred and continue to unfold.

We had the opportunity to travel and struggle alongside you in Japan almost three years ago. We marched with you through the hills of Hokkaido calling for an end to G8 meetings and systems of informal governance based on brute power and self-interest. We visited your homeless encampments in Osaka, where community members told us of sharing meals and security, working together to defend homes against government evictions. We visited homeless communities in Tokyo, where organizers told us of efforts to preserve public space against the encroachment of the privatized Nike Park. We visited your infoshops, your community centers, and your houses – sites of fierce creativity and resistance. Friends and comrades in Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo, and Hokkaido, thank you for all you taught us about defending the commons in the face of capitalist and government onslaught, about building friendship, sharing meals, laughter, and music.

We have all been deeply impacted by the time we spent with you in Japan, and we have watched in horror as the tsunami and aftermath, including nuclear disaster, has wreaked havoc on your country. We mourn for the losses your society faces. We stand in solidarity with your efforts to survive, help each other, and achieve safety, well-being, and justice in a profoundly difficult situation. These words are not enough, but we extend them to you. Please let us know what we can do. You are in our hearts.

We are with you.
In Solidarity

Sarah
Asha
Marina
David

Leave a Reply

